You’d think everything that can be said about Shillong had been said in countless different ways – some good things, some parodies – but not all had been said until I have my say.  I’d like to think that way at least, and you will bear with me.

Shillong is the capital city of the state of Meghalaya in India.  It is a truly beautiful place. Some people call it the East of this or that country, but Shillong is unique and beautiful in its own right and I would not call it anything else. I don’t see the need to qualify it by calling it something else.

It became my adopted city since the middle of ’92. I entered as a child and I left a much older bloke, at least chronologically in ’03.  A part of Shillong would always stay with me, even if I am not aware of it sometimes.  I wished I had the luxury to capture the scenes as it was back then, but a few photos taken in flight is all I have now with me.  I am meaning to show a few here, like it or not.  I will be back there yet, till then we will have to contend with what we have in our hands now, won’t we?

Approaching Shillong

Umiam Lake, Shillong

Also called Barapani

Another view of Umiam Lake

My Alma Mater: North Eastern Hill University, Shillong

North Eastern Hill University, Shillong: AB

NEHU AB, another view

Shillong Golden Evening

Leaving Shillong

Leaving Shillong

I will be back there yet.  So long, Shillong!